The Dugout Report

Tim Lincecum Wins 2009 NL Cy Young Award by llwesman
November 19, 2009, 12:02 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s back to back for Tim Lincecum, who won the 2009 NL Cy Young award.

Although he didn’t receive the most first place votes, the combination of firsts and seconds put him ahead of Cardinal righthanders Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainwright. Lincecum, who was first in strikeouts, second in ERA, and second in IP surged ahead of his competitors on the strength of his across the board numbers, while Wainwright lost votes for his high ERA and WHIP and Carpenter for his lesser innings pitched and strikeouts.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: